West Yorkshire Policing Awards 2016 (14 May 2016)

Cannon _and _meakin _1West Yorkshire Police officers and staff were honoured for their incredible achievements at its annual awards ceremony which was held at the their training and development facility near Wakefield last night (13 May).

The West Yorkshire Policing Awards recognises exceptional performance within the Force, under categories such as extraordinary public service, protection of vulnerable victims, crime investigation and bravery.

Temporary Chief Constable at West Yorkshire Police, Dee Collins, said: "I have tremendous pride in our workforce and volunteers who all contribute to keeping communities safe and feeling safe. Policing can be a difficult and challenging job, but it is also incredibly rewarding, making a real difference to individuals and our communities. I would like to congratulate everyone that was involved.

"It's very important that we take the time to value these particular achievements but also recognise the contribution that all our workforce makes every day working together with our communities to protect the vulnerable, reduce and prevent crime."

West Yorkshire's newly re-elected Police and Crime Commissioner, Mark Burns-Williamson, added: "These awards highlight the fantastic work carried out by officers and staff every day to ensure our communities remain safe.

"West Yorkshire is an area with some of the greatest policing and community safety needs and the fact is that every day officers and staff go that extra mile to ensure communities are safer and feel safer, so these awards are crucial in recognising the outstanding contributions made and I am proud to be part of them.

"The high standard of nominations are testament to the commitment of officers and staff and this year was no exception, highlighting the commitment and dedication shown by individuals in what can be very challenging and life threatening circumstances."

The Chief Constable and Police & Crime Commissioner also thanked the generous help of the commercial sponsors who supported this year's awards.

The winners on the evening were:

Adams McGill Award for the Protection of Vulnerable Victims

DCI Darren Minton, Calderdale

Darren has been instrumental in transforming Safeguarding standards in Calderdale, particularly around partnership work to tackle Child Sexual Exploitation. Darren chairs the Domestic Abuse Partnership and a Proactive and Responsive sub group which he personally set up.

Award for Extraordinary Public Service, Sponsored by Interserve

Dr Juliet Pearlman, from Occupational Health Unit

Juliet, who became the Occupational Health Physician in 1992, led the way in gathering evidence that enabled West Yorkshire to become the first Force in the county to gain accreditation, endorsed by the Facility of Occupational Health.

Ian Broadhurst Trophy for Contribution to Road Policing

PC Andy Fitzpatrick and PC Chris Haigh, of Protective Services Crime

Following the creation of the Automatic Number Plate Recognition Unit in January, the amazing contributions of both officers in the reduction of crime and criminal use of vehicles on our roads has become widely recognised.

Dennis Hoban Award for Crime Investigation, Sponsored by Local Government Chemists Teddington

DS Stephen Cousins, from Protective Services Crime

Stephen's expertise does not remain confined to the boundaries of West Yorkshire, but across the world assisting many colleagues on serious investigations. He is central to educating and assisting colleagues in investigative techniques.

The Sharon Beshenivsky Trophy - PCSO of the Year, Sponsored by Police Mutual

PCSO Charlene Henegan, of Bradford District

Dubbed by local residents as the best thing to ever happen to Heaton, Charlene is an extremely valued and experienced PCSO. She always performs to a very high standard, earning standing ovations at some community meetings.

Student Officer of the Year, Sponsored by Tri Healthcare Scheme

PC Simon Ragsdale, of Wakefield District

Always prepared to take on new challenges, Simon is completely focussed on serving the community. His approach to demand reduction, by problem solving the issues behind the call, has led to much positive recognition.

Outstanding Leadership

Chief Superintendent Simon Atkin, of Bradford District

Simon was nominated for his sustained, exemplary and outstanding contribution to the policing of West Yorkshire, particularly the communities of Bradford where he has served at every rank with the exception of Superintendent.

Police Bravery Award, Sponsored by the West Yorkshire Police Federation

PC Sean Cannon and PCSO Simon Meakin, of Bradford District (pictured)

Their combined efforts meant that five people aged between 3 and 59 were successfully rescued from a burning house. They were responding to a routine call when alerted to shouting and screaming from a nearby property.

Solving Problems with Partners Award

Sgt Vanessa Rolfe, of Force Performance Unit

Vanessa has played a key role in developing processes that are critical in the support and protection of vulnerable people across our communities. This includes the Herbert Protocol to help people and families living with dementia.

Volunteer of the Year Award

John Harvey, of Wakefield District

John is a real asset to his role with Wakefield District Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub. Without John, the hub would struggle to remain as proactive, ensuring the highest level of service to those most vulnerable in society.

Colin Cramphorn Trophy for Contribution to Neighbourhood Policing, Sponsored by Kings Security

PC Julian Siviter, of Wakefield District

Julian's positive attitude towards developing Special Constables to deliver on local priorities has resulted in some excellent results in a number of operations in the Wakefield District.

Special Constable of the Year Award

SSO Mark Spedding, of Protective Services Operations

Over the last nine years, Mark has developed and led a team of 21 Special Constables who are specifically trained to police key public order events, enabling Force resources to be redirected to other important initiatives.

Team of the Year, Sponsored by the West Yorkshire Police Federation

Beeston Road Investigation Team, of Protective Services Crime

An investigation into the rape and attempted murder of a woman in Leeds led to the largest operation mounted by the Force in many years. A man was extradited back to the UK and eventually sentenced to 20 years imprisonment.

Lifetime Achievement Award, Sponsored by Blue Star Software

David Griffiths, of Leeds District

A civilian cell investigator retiring this year after 40 years of service is very victim orientated and has appealed cases with the Crown Prosecution Service and successfully challenged decisions on behalf of his victims.

Employee of the Year Award, Sponsored by Buddi

PC Sean Cannon and PCSO Simon Meakin

© Copyright West Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner 2019