Police and Crime Commissioner for West Yorkshire | WYPCC

West Yorkshire Policing Awards

Image of Policing Awards 2019

17 June 2019

Dedication to frontline policing, complex investigations and protecting vulnerable victims of crime are among the achievements that were honoured at this year's West Yorkshire Policing Awards.

The annual awards ceremony was held at the Centenary Pavillion at Leeds United Football Club on Friday evening (14 June) and recognised the accolades of police officers, PCSO's, staff, volunteers and members of the Special Constabulary.

West Yorkshire's Temporary Chief Constable John Robins congratulated all who were nominated in the West Yorkshire Policing Awards 2019 and thanked everyone for their professionalism and commitment to the police.

Temporary Chief Constable John Robins said: "The West Yorkshire Policing Awards are a highlight of the year for me and it's great to see the dedication and hard work that all our staff and officers put into our communities across West Yorkshire.

"These awards show some of the great work that goes on every day across the force in what has been an extremely challenging 12 months."

West Yorkshire's Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC), Marks Burns-Williamson, also attended the ceremony and made the 'Employee of the Year' award.

Mark Burns-Williamson said: "I am always humbled by the tremendous work undertaken by officers, staff and volunteers alongside our partners across West Yorkshire.

"These awards really typify the high levels of professionalism and compassion demonstrated, often under the most challenging and complex of circumstances.

"Hearing the stories of all those nominated for these awards truly brings home the levels of dedication and personal commitment in keeping people safe and feeling safe.

"Certainly from my own experience and visits across our communities, I know that it does not go unnoticed and is making a genuine difference to people's lives, which is rightly recognised with these annual awards."

West Yorkshire Police would like to thank all its sponsors for the event including Airwave Eurofins, PMAS, Superintendents Association and T & P Print.

The winners were:

Award for Extraordinary Public Service

John Brooksbank - Kirklees District

John was recognised for his dedication and professionalism during an extended investigation, bringing people to justice through the successful preparation of case files.

Adams McGill Award for Protection of Vulnerable Victims& Employee of the Year - sponsored by Blue Star Software

Forced Marriage Investigation and Conviction - Bangladesh - Leeds District

The officers were recognised for their ground-breaking work in support of victims and communities who suffer forced marriage and honour based abuse

Outstanding Contribution to Equality and Diversity

PC James Elliott - Bradford District

For his contribution to equality and diversity working alongside faith communities in Bradford.

Student Officer of the Year Award - sponsored by West Yorkshire Police Federation

PC Joshua Jackson - Bradford District

For his dedication and commitment during his first two years service.

Sharon Beshenivsky Trophy - PCSO of the Year - sponsored by No 1 Copperpot Credit Union

PCSO Lyndon Thomas - Bradford District

For going above and beyond daily helping to tackle crime and ASB in Bradford.

Ian Broadhurst Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Roads Policing - sponsored by Risk Managements Partners

PC Darren Parkinson - Kirklees District

For his innovative use of ANPR on the roads in Kirklees.

Colin Cramphorn Trophy for Contribution to Neighbourhood Policing - sponsored by Blue Star Software

PS Ben Doughty - Calderdale District

For his hard work developing the community safety warden team, promoting collaborative working and reducing crime within Calderdale

Solving Problems with Partners Award

PS Emma Rowbottom - Bradford District

Emma was recognised for her hard work and dedication setting up the innovative 'Tackle It' project within a prison, encouraging all participants to develop a more positive outlook and enjoy a successful life away from crime.

Special Constable of the Year Award

SSO Andrew Bradshaw - People Directorate

For his hard work and dedication shaping future generations of citizens in policing and ensuring that the highest levels of service are provided to the community.

Tutor Constable of the Year Award

PC Michael Skinner - Kirklees District

For his dedication, commitment, professionalism and general good humour in tutoring many students officers over 16 years.

Volunteer of the Year Award

Chaplain Ismail Syed - Leeds District

Ismail was recognised for his commitment to the chaplaincy over the past year, devoting hundreds of hours to providing a hands-on approach in support of the welfare of frontline officers.

Police Bravery Award - sponsored by the West Yorkshire Police Federation

PC Sanya Shahid - Leeds District

In recognition of her brave actions whilst she was on duty in Leeds rescuing a young boy who had been trapped by a vehicle.

Team of the Year - sponsored by Albany and Interserve

Leeds City NPT - Leeds District

The team were recognised for their outstanding performance, demonstrating an amazing work ethic and determination to deal positively with criminals, which has received excellent results

Lifetime Achievement Award

DI Ian Bryar - Bradford District

Ian was recognised for his outstanding commitment, dedication and professionalism throughout his 30 years' service.